Eggless Chocolate Cake

Eggless Chocolate Cake

I’ve always loved to bake – in my free time, when I’m bored. Baked to cheer someone up, baked to satisfy a crave. Baked here, baked there, baked baked everywhere. Gosh, I just love baking. It’s one thing I do that takes me into a whole different world.

20130323_191200

When I bake, I enter my own world where there’s no worries and stress. It’s a world made of butter, sugar, fondant and swiss meringue buttercream. Where it rains sprinkles and mountains are made of tiered cakes with gum paste flowers. And the sun, oh the sun,  is a giant sugar cookie.

In short, baking is my joie de vivre and nothing makes me happier. 20130323_191149

So after much persuasion from friends and family, here goes nothing. This is me, sharing my world with you. Wishing and hoping I might be able to create some miracle and somehow inspire some of you to get out there and start baking, finding your passion just as I did.

So what say you hang around for a bit? Maybe you might just find something you like? :)

Recipe

I have been looking for the perfect eggless moist chocolate cake recipe – my in laws are vegetarians who don’t consume eggs and most of our circle of friends and family are as well. Hence the eggless cake – It’s always a great feeling to be able to serve something that everyone can enjoy.

So far I have always end up with a dry cake :( I have always found eggless cakes tricky. How do you maintain the texture of a moist cake without eggs? I refuse to believe that eggless cakes are meant to be dry. So I searched and searched and experimented relentlessly and VOILA! I finally found a recipe that is not only moist but also very chocolatey!

20130323_173322

Here is the recipe for your reference. The buttercream icing was loosely based on the recipe.

Buttercream Icing

  • Unsalted Butter – 100 gms, room temp
  • Cocoa powder – 1/4 cup (or more to taste)
  • Icing sugar – 2-2.5 cups (or more to taste)
  • Vanilla essence – 1 tsp
  • Hot milk – ~5 tbsp
  • Red food colouring ( I used gel based color)

I used the same amount of butter and beat it with icing sugar (adding on to your taste). Also, instead of hot water, I heated up milk (I used more than 3 Tbsp – you can add bit by bit while beating the mix to the consistency you would want it to be). Add in the vanilla essence and beat the buttercream.

Once the icing is ready, separate the mix into two parts (one portion 1/4 of the icing and the other 3/4). You will now add a tiny dot of the red food colouring to the smaller portion of buttercream and beat it so it blends completely. You may add on icing sugar here if required. For the bigger batch of buttercream, add the cocoa powder and beat the mixture. Same as before, you may add on more icing if required.

20130323_235601

Spread the chocolate icing all over your cooled down cake. Then add the pink coloured icing into a piping bag with a star tip (I used #30) and pipe little stars along the cake. You really could just decorate it however you want to. If you make more buttercream with a bigger portion of pink icing, you could really just pipe stars or pearls on the bottom of the cake.

Do share your pictures if you do bake this cake and any tips or comments you may have! :)

I took this cake over to a party at a family’s place and everyone just loved it and kept picking on it. It was a hit I must say!

The tiny piece I was left with at the end of the day
The tiny piece I was left with at the end of the day
One thought on “Eggless Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

