Japanese Cheesecake

Japanese Cheesecake

Hello, my lovely readers! It’s a nice long weekend here with the Melbourne Cup carnival going on. I got myself a 4-day-weekend! When you have so much time on your hands the only thing to do is to bake! That’s a no brainer :) I’ve always loved Japanese cheesecakes but never did try to bake one myself. What better time to test this out! I got the recipe from this Rasa Malaysia link and followed everything to the dot. Also, make sure you read the Cook’s Notes. Just a few things I noticed to improve on in my next attempt, when melting the butter and cheese mixture, ensure there are no clumps. The mixture needs to be super smooth and velvety. I used a 9 inch round cake tin and placed it in a pie dish, lined with a tea towel and filled it up with water. My oven is fan forced, so I set the temperature to 140 degrees and baked for 1 H 15 Mins. As per the instructions, I left the cake to cool in the oven with the oven door slightly ajar. My cake looked perfect and it was so fluffy! Perfect balance of both sugar and cheese. I never knew this but now I’ve come to know that the fluffiness is because the main component of a Japanese cheesecake is meringue! Who knew? I wonder if I can use the same idea and experiment with something else!

Japanese Cheesecake

Japanese Cheesecake

Japanese Cheesecake

3 thoughts on “Japanese Cheesecake

Leave a Reply

