Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake with Salted Caramel

PeanutButterChocCake.jpg

Sometime back, I had a college buddy of mine fly down to Melbourne for a trip. I caught up with him over dinner where we had the most amazing dessert – peanut butter parfait topped with chocolate mousse, drizzled generously all over with salted caramel. It was AMAZEBALLS. I’m not much of a fan of peanut butter desserts, but this was out of this world amazing. Simple ingredients that creates a crazy disco in your mouth when combined. Loved it. I knew I had to convert this into a cake.

Peanut butter and salted caramel are also two of my husband’s favourite. Oh, and chocolate and mint. He loves anything chocolate and mint. Buying a tub of ice cream always ends up in a negotiation. He wants the chocolate mint, I want anything else but. And there we would stand in front of the freezer section presenting arguments over why chocolate mint or not chocolate mint should be the tub of choice.

September is also my husbands birthday month and for the man who loves his peanut butter, I knew this was the perfect time to test this cake out. Now I’m sure there must be some versions of peanut butter cake. I however had been eyeing some recipes that I wanted to test out. So with a combination of recipes, I created the peanut butter chocolate cake with salted caramel.

peanutbutterchoccake2.jpg

For the chocolate cake, I used this lovely recipe that I found here. Look at that slice of cake, isn’t it like the most beautiful slice of chocolate cake you’ve ever seen? I followed everything as per the recipe and set my oven to 160 degrees, fan forced. You can set it to 180 degrees if you’re not using a fan forced oven. This cake is so yummy that you could just bake it and eat it plain. Its good enough for that. Beautiful.

For the peanut butter frosting, I just whipped up some butter, icing sugar, LOADS OF PEANUT BUTTER and some milk chocolate. You will find the ingredients and method for the peanut butter frosting below.

I used this recipe here for the salted caramel which once cooled down, I poured all over the cake. I’m not quite sure if I missed out on something or did something wrong, but the salted caramel pretty much hardened atop the cake. It was mentioned in the recipe that it would thicken as it cools down, just didn’t think it would thicken to that point. It didn’t matter though, the cake was heavenly. All it needs after getting it out of the fridge is a quick pop into the microwave (10seconds) and voila! You have all the gooey goodness of the salted caramel. I would also add that this would be the perfect recipe for toffee lollies! Would definitely make yummy treats as gifts even!

Of course Mr Hubby was so excited and happy to have a birthday cake with all his favourite ingredients in! The cake turned out so good. It was like a sloppy joe. Messy gooey salted caramel with peanut butter frosting. The combination just worked so well together, it was a winner!

Peanut Butter Frosting

Ingredients:

250g unsalted butter

400g smooth peanut butter

200g icing sugar

225g milk chocolate melts

Method:

  1. Place the butter in a mixing bowl and beat the butter until pale.
  2. Meanwhile, place about half of the milk chocolate melts in a bowl and melt it using a microwave. I melted them using 30 seconds intervals, each time stirring the chocolate with a fork to ensure a smooth consistency. Then mix in the remaining milk chocolate melts and stir until everything is melted and smooth. If required, repeat the process until all chocolate is melted.
  3. Gradually add the peanut butter  to the butter mixture followed by the icing sugar and the melted chocolate.

Note: You can always adjust the amount of ingredients to suit your taste. Its all about tasting as you go until you hit the desired taste.

P.S: Sorry about the photos! Had no time to take proper pictures as the hubby couldn’t wait to cut and devour the cake. Since it was for him on his birthday, I couldn’t say no! :D

 

Leave a Reply

